AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
723 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I am really new to HDTV... just bought one last Saturday; Samsung HLN507w1x/xaa.

This pup's component inputs are supposed to accept 480i, 480p, 720p, and 1080i.

Cable guy was here Wednesday and installed Motorola HDTC (5100 I believe). 16:9 HDTV is incredible... more than I imagined.

So after he leaves I start to play with the box he left and notice in setup that its output is set to 1080i. My limited knowledge tells me since the sammy is native 720p. it should look better to set the box to ouput 720p.

No such luck, it works in every setting BUT 720p. When set to 720p the set looks like it is trying to sync up (picture goes away, comes back in bits and pieces, goes away, repeat etc.). I can't even see the setup menu on this setting until I toggle back to one of the other settings.

Now it does look great set to 1080i, but why can't it lock up to the 720p setting?

-ss

· Registered
40 Posts
I've got my Motorla 5100HD pushing 720p to my HLN507w1 through component, and no problem like that... although occasionally I do get freeze ups of hd material (kind of frustrating). I lose Sound & Pic for a second or 2 when this happens, so I'm not sure if DVI would help. I think it's the Moto box.

Possible you've got a bad one? Call your cable company and ask if there's any way to have your firmware for the box updated (they can push that stuff through to you) first and if that doesn't help, ask for a new box.

Check out the Motorola threads for further help:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forum...?s=&forumid=25

· Coyote Waits
27,309 Posts
I would try to get it working just because I couldn't stand that it doesn't.