AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been reading these forums for a while now, and it appears to me that most people here like Denon receivers the most, at least they seem to be the most talked about. Being that I am a newbie trying to put together my first home theater system, I'm trying to decide what receiver to buy for 80% movies/20% music use. My choices are between the following possibly:

Denon AVR-1803

Denon AVR-2803 (when it comes out)

H/K AVR-325

H/K AVR-525

Onkyo TX-SR600

As you can see, I'm trying to keep the cost of the receiver below $700 hopefully. So why should I choose Denon over Onkyo or H/K? Is it better quality, better sounding, etc? Are there any problems with the other brands? For example, I'm worried that the Denon AVR-1803 does not have enough component video bandwith to output a good signal to an HDTV. I'm hoping the AVR-2803 will. On the other hand, I've read about Onkyo's problems with their power being way overstated. I'd like to hear people's opinions on this based on their experience, and I am also open to other models/brands that anyone can suggest.

Thanks!

Javier

·
Registered
95 Posts
I'm going to tag along on this thread as I'm considering a very similar list. I'm less into H/K for some reason, and also have the Intergra 5.3 as a lead contender.

·
Registered
302 Posts