AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 92 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I own a set of Kef iQ9s and I love them to death but when I look at the frequency response curve it makes me doubt what I'm hearing. Wouldn't the best speakers have perfectly even frequency response curves?

I chose the iQ9s because they sound equivalent in accuracy and character to my Shure E4Cs e.g. Tight aggressive bass, vivid and focused mids and crisp highs. My Shures have practically a straight line for a frequency response curve which I always thought was ideal for perfectly balanced tone. My Kefs on the other hand look like mess.

Is there something I'm not understanding about how tone reproduction works?

·
Registered
3,804 Posts
I'm no expert on this but I'll throw a couple of things
Out there.

1) studies have shown that most people prefer a neutral
(Flat) freq response. But...everyone hears things differently.
This is where personal preference comes into play. If you like
An exaggerated mid-bass and your speaker has this then you
Would prefer it. Also if a speaker has exaggerated high freq response
And you are starting to have problems hearing high notes (age?)
This may be something you also prefer.

2) your room's acoustic properties and how they interact with what you
Hear AND your speakers freq response in the room could also
Influence what you hear and like. A highly reflective room could accentuate
High freq's even more, which may undesirable..or not.

Bottom line is if you are happy then good

·
Registered
7,989 Posts
Two things. Is the graph youre looking at a room response. And the Kef is a coax speaker which often have cancellation dips in the response from how the tweeter interacts with the woofer cone. This isn't good, but its a trade off for other benefits like perfect polar response, which may be what makes them sound so good to you.

Impulse Audio Canada

·
AVS ***** Member
8,970 Posts