AVS Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
With the advice from you guys I had narrowed my search for a sub $600 surround system to the HSU VT12 and the Polk R300 ($99 ea). I saw the ad on Frys website that had the Polks for $49 and my local electronics store said they would match the price. I was ready to purchase them but I wanted to get your ideas on whether I should buy 4 matching speakers and a polk center for surround sound or if I should purchase smaller polk surrounds for the rears. Does it make a difference? They had polk monitor 30 which were smaller but cost just as much as the floorstanding ($99 ea.). My other question came when I stopped at Best Buy just to make sure I was making the right decision (and they have 36 months no interest). I ran across the sony ssmf 550 ($139 ea.) and they sounded great for music. They did not have it set up to test movies. Again, I am very new to this, but I was completely satisfied. I was even more pleased to see that on Vanns they had them on sale for $119 a pair! I could get the next model up for $199 a pair. After extensive reading hear I know you guys are not fans of sony speakers. Please help me understand why and tell me if there if there is anything comparable for the price? Consumer Reports has favorable marks for them.

Does it matter what speakers I match for surround as long as they are the same brand/line? Thank you in advance for your help. You guys have really educated me. At least I know to stay away from Bose.

·
Registered
105 Posts
you want, at least, the front stage to be the same brand/model so they timber(sp?) match. it's important to have all the front speakers with the same tweeter and mid-range so everything sounds the same. rear speakers are mostly for effects. you can get whatever sub you want.

·
Registered
4,421 Posts