AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Visual Apex is offering a three year warranty for around $150...that's $50 per year (actually $75 since the manufacturer warranties it for the first year).

Usually I'm not a proponent of extended warranties so I would like to know what you guys think about this?

I called VA and they will be emailing me the details of the program...it will be intersting to see what's covered (hopefully dust blobs, dead pixels).

Any thoughts?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Im also interested in this. Is the Panny reliable or is an extended warrenty a good idea?

·
Registered
45 Posts
Do we know who the warranty is provided by? I mean, is it a manufacturer warranty that is good at any Panny authorized repair shop, or do you have to send it back to the retailer?

·
Registered
2,039 Posts
Check on the price of a replacement LCD block ... :)

$150 doesn't scratch the surface if you need to replace one ...

These things just aren't like your normal old TV ... and they sure as heck aren't as cheap to repair!

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I don't have the info yet but it sounds like it will be bare bones and very limited. I will report back once I get the details.

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
(Paul)VA just called me and the vendor is Philips Electronics. They are still rehashing the details but will get back to me tomorrow. According to Paul it will likely cover things like a fan going out or a power supply failure...mostly manufacturing defects.

he told me to keep all the original packing because they will swap a machine if a problem cannot be properly fixed. It is also an in-home warranty with someone at the door within a 24-hour turnaround.