AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
1,333 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I should say IS the JVC XV-N55 is better than a Denon 1600?

Has anyone done a Shoot out betwen the brand new JVC model and the now two year old Denon 1600( about to be discontined) model?

I now have both side by side at home. I am just a newbie on this so help me out.

I got the Denon 1600 becuase everyone here said it was the best.

I got it home and it only plays 2 out 20 DVD-R that I have.

So I got the JVC as it can play everything as it is so new.

Picture Wise, I cant tell a different on major Hollywood hit movies that on most only watch.

Why JVC is better:

1. It is only $96 after rebate making it $220 less than Denon.

2. I can justify the $220 price increase for such so minor video quality difference that I cant see unless I am freeze framing on a Avia test DVD.

3. It plays everything. DVD-R DVD+R & RWs

4. It has the new Digitial Direct Progressive Scan Chip in it to make it as good (for normal viewing from your chair, non paused) as the Faourija chip (spelling).

5. It also has the Coax Digital out that some receivers need.

Remember I am just a newbie here, what am I seeing wrong>? Help me justify the $220 price increas for the Denon, one of them has to be returned next week.

·
Banned
3,539 Posts