1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
562 Posts
Hi reio-ta:

I'm no expert, but from what I understand the ideal projector lamp would have:
  1. High light output
  2. Broad and consistent color spectrum over the life of the lamp
  3. Widely available (e.g. not a "new" or proprietary technology with limited availability)
  4. "Long" life
  5. Low cost

The problem is, it's hard to make a lamp with all of those properties, so display manufacturers have compromised and picked the first four (well, 3 1/2...) as the most important. Apparently they feel that their current lamps best fit those criteria. Metal halide (MH) lamps that are inexpensive and widely available often have low light output and/or limited color spectrum (or color spectrum that changes over the life of the lamp), etc. MH lamps with high light output and broad color spectrum might be proprietary, limited in availablity, vary in color spectrum over their life, are expensive, etc.

Looks to me like manufacturers are pinning their hopes for the near future on LED light sources (with longer life than current lamps) and are looking at laser light sources for the more distant future rather than trying to find just the right inexpensive metal halide lamp. I suppose they must have their reasons. Maybe someone else has a better answer.

·
Registered
1,262 Posts
Excerpts from an abstract at: http://adsabs.harvard.edu/abs/2004SPIE.5289..255W