Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am new to HTPCs and have two questions (two I will bother you with that is):

1. I read about some people using a Toshiba PDA with WiFi to control a HTPC. What pocket pc remote control software utilizes Wireless LAN ? Could this also be used to control X10 modules for lamps ? Macros ?

2. I will keep my computer away in a "technical room", and only want the screen, speakers, remote control and an external dvd-rom in the living room. Could somebody recommend a slimline external dvd-rom (perhaps originally for a laptop) ?

3. Is there a program for the PC that can handle the X10 computer module, running apropriate video/audio software, remote control signals and has a nice graphical user interface ?

Thanks,

Thomas

·
Registered
276 Posts
 Here is a link

Next time, try the search button. It will save you tons of time. I did a slow search on "PDA Remote" and a few threads popped up that would have helped.

:)

·
Registered
1,406 Posts
I'll be doing the same thing.

Do a search on HouseBot and Girder. The HouseBot will do what you want and they are setting up a bridge between it and Girder. The HTPC will be the server and the PDA will be the remote client.

I too am interested in the Slimline DVD player...whatever that is. I need an external DVD player so recommendations are appreciated.

I'm almost thinking I should skip th PDA remote thing and go for a cool RF keyboard/mouse combo like the Gyration(sp?).

·
Registered
246 Posts
For the DVD, do a search in this forum for 'external DVD enclsoure'. There are a couple of threads about using external USB 2.0 or firewire enclosures.

·
Registered
1,406 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by acheslow
For the DVD, do a search in this forum for 'external DVD enclsoure'. There are a couple of threads about using external USB 2.0 or firewire enclosures.