AVS Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I know this is a stupid question, but please be gentle - I'm a rookie with audio stuff!

I currently have an HR10-250 DirecTiVo unit, but I only have a vanilla home-theater-in-a-box Panasonic unit ( http://www.crutchfield.com/App/Produ...SCHT820&tp=195 ) to hook it up to. The Panasonic does not have a digital audio input, so I have to hook the TiVo up using regular red/white stereo cables. The Panasonic will convert this to Dolby surround sound, but I've never been impressed at all with the sound.

I assume that getting a REAL receiver (like the Onkyo TX-SR705) will make a big difference, but I just want to be sure. I don't watch many DVDs, so I'm talking about the regular HD shows and sporting events that you get in primetime on the major networks. Do you think there will be a big difference when stepping up to a unit like the Onkyo (I will be keeping the speakers that came with the Panasonic unit)? If the difference only shows up when viewing DVDs with advanced soundtracks, I don't think I'll bother to make a switch.

Thanks for your thoughts!

Thanks!

Jay

·
Registered
498 Posts
My $0.02 - A "real" receiver won't get you much without decent speakers to go with it. In fact, those speakers for your Panny HTIB look to have some sort of proprietary connection routing through the "sub", so those speakers wouldn't even work with a traditional receiver.

Having just watched today's playoff games through my 605 in hi-def, I can easily say that a nice receiver and speakers can really add to the experience of watching a big game, but you'd need more than just a new receiver to pull this off...

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by griz_fan /forum/post/12881004

In fact, those speakers for your Panny HTIB look to have some sort of proprietary connection routing through the "sub", so those speakers wouldn't even work with a traditional receiver.