AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
345 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a noob at CIH but I'm assuming that some zoom would be required without the anamorphic lens. (otherwise it would be CIW, right?)

The 8350 specs manual zoom/manual focus. Does this mean that I would have to get up and manually adjust the lens if I wanted to change between 1.78 and 2.35?

Thanks for your help,

Cory

·
Registered
112 Posts
I don't know about the Epson, but I do know that if you setup the Mitsubishi HC4000 and Panasonic AE4000 correctly, then the projector automatically zooms in and out the image when alternating between 1.78:1 and 2.35:1. No manual shifting of the projector is required or A-lenses.

·
Registered
5,128 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by manthatsnice /forum/post/20880251

I'm a noob at CIH but I'm assuming that some zoom would be required without the anamorphic lens. (otherwise it would be CIW, right?)

The 8350 specs manual zoom/manual focus. Does this mean that I would have to get up and manually adjust the lens if I wanted to change between 1.78 and 2.35?

Thanks for your help,

Cory

Yes, you'd have to manually adjust it if using the zoom method. Maybe workable if shelf mounted, not so hot if ceiling mounted. When looking at projector options, and planning for zoom method, I disqualified any projector that didn't have power zoom / shift / focus for that reason.

·
Registered
345 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks Brad. Boy, you're everywhere by the way.

I was considering the 8350 because of $ and the image quality seems good to me.

I guess I'm now for looking the least expensive auto zoom with a good image...

Thoughts?

·
Registered
5,128 Posts
Haha, I guess I'm an AVS addict.

The Panny 4000 comes to mind, but of course it is significantly more than that Epson 8350. Maybe the price will come down though with the 7000 coming soon, or you can pick one up used for less?