AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have never used "In Ceiling" speakers before and have always had some pretty decent floor standing or bookshelf speakers. We pre-wired for "inceiling" speakers in my new construction home but am now getting nervous...Let me explain. When I first hired the guy to do the pre-wiring, I didn't care to research anything because I had an incredible amount of other things on my plate at the time. Now that I have started to research receivers etc. I am really starting to care how things are going to sound. If I am going to put out $1,000 to $1,800 on a receiver (really like the Pioneer Elite SC-25 right now), would it be wasted by using "in ceiling" speakers. I know there are many different levels of speaker, but I am looking for a "Generally speaking" answer.

Because of my schedule (and other things I won't get into) I simply can't get away to audition speakers right now. Will I be greatly disappointed with the in ceilings?

I am no audiophile, but I want to enjoy my Blue Ray movies and music.

The cutouts (8.5") are for speakers with 6.5" woofers. Would it likely be worth it to step up to bigger in ceilings??? My installer wants to use Proficient speakers which range in construction (poly, graphite, kevlar) and price. I wish I could be more specific about which speakers, but obviously that decision has not been made yet primarily due to my general concerns about "in ceiling" speakers.

thanks for any guidance

·
Registered
3,587 Posts
If this is for a Home theater?? If so you will be very very disapointed. In ceilings are good for just general music listening in a kitchen, bathroom etc. For A home theater they are so far from a proper set-up they'll make you want to move and start over. I wouldn't waste my money on a nice AVR with speakers that are so sub par for HT.