AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
833 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Its that time of the week again, another version of WiRNS is out.


CHANGES

-------


0.4: WiRNServ:

- Multi-provider/input support is tested and working.

- Large headend bug should be fixed too

- Other things I'm sure I've forgotten


WiRNSImport:

- Tons of timezone bug fixes.

- Multi-provider support is tested and working.

- Added File->Import from File so you dont have to redownload if you need to restart.

- Other things I'm sure I've forgotten.

http://wirns.sourceforge.net

EDIT: Please note that it sometimes takes up to 1-2 hours for sourceforge to get the file to all of its mirrors, so if you dont see wirns-0.4a as a release, check back in an hour.


50 downloads of wirns and only 2 people talking. Feedback? I could really use a documentation writer if anyone is up to the task. I could also use someone who knows .chm and feels like writing one for the Importer.


As always, give me feedback/problems/etc here, I Dont check the sf.net email at all so.


Enjoy..


:)


-kjac
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
529 Posts
what is your package for? I must've missed any other discussions of it in the forums...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
833 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
alhull,


WiRNS lets you put your own guide/listing/lineup information onto a replay.


Usefull for non-americans and people who have non-standard lineups (C-BAND), in the future it will support a headend-only hijack mode to fix channel lineups that replay has messed up (channel 31 according to replay is channel 36 really, or whatever).


-kjac
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
640 Posts
Great. I'll work on getting home and exercising it. (I'll install it and do all I can, save the RTV stuff, remotely)


One thing that may make sense for setup and configuration.


How about a switch/option to import a single day's worth of listings? That would make setup verification a *LOT* quicker to see if all is well w/o having to run multiple xmltv hour long d/l's?


Again, this would be a diagnostic, setup option to allow testing of listings, time zones etc much easier.


Just a thought.


Cliff
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
833 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
cliffcor,


That function is already there, pick the day and hit the "Force Update" button.


Force Update -> Update the currently selected day.

Daily Update -> Manually run the nightly task

File->Full Import -> Import all 13 days.


-kjac
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
640 Posts
Thanks on the 1 day thing.


I did pop an error.


On Import, I had already created an Antenna provider. OK. A Cable provider OK, and then was pointing to the xmltv config file on my Satellite proivider and go the following.


I wanted to preserve the error information before I backed up and tried again. I'll report back.


Cliff


=====================


See the end of this message for details on invoking

just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.


************** Exception Text **************

System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

at WiRNSImport.NewProvider.button1_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)

at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)

at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)

at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)

at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)

at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)

at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)

at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)

at System.Windows.Forms.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)

at System.Windows.Forms.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)

at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)



************** Loaded Assemblies **************

mscorlib

Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0

Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.573

CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/ microsoft.net/framework/v1.1.4322/mscorlib.dll

----------------------------------------

WiRNSImport

Assembly Version: 1.0.1357.20893

Win32 Version: 1.0.1357.20893

CodeBase: file:///C:/RTV_Server/WiRNSImport/WiRNSImport.exe

----------------------------------------

System.Windows.Forms

Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0

Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.573

CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.windows.forms/1.0.5000.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.windows.forms.dll

----------------------------------------

System

Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0

Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.573

CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system/1.0.5000.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.dll

----------------------------------------

RegexAssembly2_0

Assembly Version: 0.0.0.0

Win32 Version: n/a

CodeBase:

----------------------------------------

System.Drawing

Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0

Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.573

CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.drawing/1.0.5000.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/system.drawing.dll

----------------------------------------

System.Xml

Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0

Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.573

CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/ system.xml/1.0.5000.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.xml.dll

----------------------------------------

zf9inc-_

Assembly Version: 0.0.0.0

Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.573

CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system/1.0.5000.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.dll

----------------------------------------

Microsoft.Data.Odbc

Assembly Version: 1.0.3300.0

Win32 Version: 1.0.4030.0

CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/ microsoft.data.odbc/1.0.3300.0__b77a5c561934e089/microsoft.data.odbc.dll

----------------------------------------

System.Data

Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0

Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.573

CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/ system.data/1.0.5000.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.data.dll

----------------------------------------


************** JIT Debugging **************

To enable just in time (JIT) debugging, the config file for this

application or machine (machine.config) must have the

jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.

The application must also be compiled with debugging

enabled.


For example:






When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception

will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the machine

rather than being handled by this dialog.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
640 Posts
FOrget the previous post. It was a J6P error. I'd thought I'd set the provider type, but somehow skipped or didn't get the Satellite' set properly. The error popped off when I het create it w/o the service type drop down set. My Bad.


Cliff
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
640 Posts
Hummm,


Tried this with both a one day, and full import. The fetching listings prompt goes away followed by the Importing Listings prompt.


But as far as I can tell looking at CPU usage etc. is that nothing is happening.


My next step, unless I hear of something you'd like me to try is to go back and purge the database and other files that may have been hanging around from a couple days ago. Should have done that anyhow.


Cliff
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
833 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Sounds like a problem with your xmltv configuration. Did you set your xmltv.exe location? Are all your config file locations proper (check in providerList.xml)? Did you restart the importer after all of that?


-kjac
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
229 Posts
I live right near the state line..my city operates on eastern time but my cable tv listings come based on central time...this means I have to keep the replay on central time which can be confusing sometime when looking at a listing in the paper etc...can your program compensate for the time discrepancy?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
640 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by kjac
Sounds like a problem with your xmltv configuration. Did you set your xmltv.exe location? Are all your config file locations proper (check in providerList.xml)? Did you restart the importer after all of that?-kjac
Yeah, I restarted, and the provider xml looks OK (100,200,300). I do have a 100-2003-09-19.xml (as well as the unsorted), but nothing from the second provider and no listings in the import screen. I get occasional 2-4% CPU activity on the import processes, but it's been a 1/2 hour and I'm not sure what's up. The prompt is still importing listings.


I'll leave it be and check back later.


Cliff
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
640 Posts
Here is what my msql\\data\

eplay directory looks like. Dir file was created at 12:10 or so local.


Volume in drive C is HPNOTEBOOK

Volume Serial Number is 84AE-1189


Directory of C:\\mysql\\data\

eplay


09/19/2003 12:11 PM .

09/19/2003 12:11 PM ..

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 8,808 channellist.frm

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 0 channellist.MYD

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 1,024 channellist.MYI

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 9,304 guide.frm

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 0 guide.MYD

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 1,024 guide.MYI

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 8,736 providerchannels.frm

09/19/2003 11:36 AM 2,780 providerchannels.MYD

09/19/2003 12:01 PM 6,144 providerchannels.MYI

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 8,676 providers.frm

09/19/2003 11:36 AM 72 providers.MYD

09/19/2003 12:01 PM 3,072 providers.MYI

09/19/2003 12:11 PM 0 replay.dir

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 9,344 replaychannellist.frm

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 0 replaychannellist.MYD

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 1,024 replaychannellist.MYI

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 9,654 replayshowlist.frm

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 0 replayshowlist.MYD

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 1,024 replayshowlist.MYI

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 8,952 unitinfo.frm

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 0 unitinfo.MYD

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 1,024 unitinfo.MYI

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 8,596 zipproviders.frm

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 0 zipproviders.MYD

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 1,024 zipproviders.MYI

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 8,676 ziptable.frm

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 0 ziptable.MYD

09/19/2003 11:32 AM 1,024 ziptable.MYI

28 File(s) 99,982 bytes

2 Dir(s) 8,407,838,720 bytes free
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
398 Posts
I missed the initial announcement about this utility because I haven't read the forum in a while, but wow, this looks like what I've been waiting for (for Expressvu).


I downloaded it and now I must try to figure out what the hell I'm doing with it this weekend. I'm not a programmer and a lot of the language in the txt file looks alien to me, but I'll try to follow the steps this weekend.


Thanks...I think.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
833 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Quote:
Originally posted by cliffcor
Yeah, I restarted, and the provider xml looks OK (100,200,300). I do have a 100-2003-09-19.xml (as well as the unsorted), but nothing from the second provider and no listings in the import screen. I get occasional 2-4% CPU activity on the import processes, but it's been a 1/2 hour and I'm not sure what's up. The prompt is still importing listings.


I'll leave it be and check back later.


Cliff
Cliff,


Are you trying Daily Update/Force Update or Full Import?


If you are trying Force, Please try Daily and see if that goes any better.


-kjac
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
833 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
Quote:
Originally posted by famewolf
I live right near the state line..my city operates on eastern time but my cable tv listings come based on central time...this means I have to keep the replay on central time which can be confusing sometime when looking at a listing in the paper etc...can your program compensate for the time discrepancy?
Yes, you could do this.


-kjac
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
833 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
Quote:
Originally posted by Carnivore
I missed the initial announcement about this utility because I haven't read the forum in a while, but wow, this looks like what I've been waiting for (for Expressvu).


I downloaded it and now I must try to figure out what the hell I'm doing with it this weekend. I'm not a programmer and a lot of the language in the txt file looks alien to me, but I'll try to follow the steps this weekend.


Thanks...I think.
Carnivore,


Unfortunately I'm a pretty typical programmer allergic to documentation. I'm hoping that someone will come along and feel like writing J6P documentation for me. However, that being said, if you do get stuck somewhere, just ask in these forums and I'm sure someone will be willing to help you get unstuck.


-kjac
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
398 Posts
Actually, now that I read it more carefully it doesn't look so hard. (I'm at work right now so I won't be able to dig into it until I get home). Does this require a dedicated computer to act as the server? Or can it reside on a Windows machine that gets used for other things as well, like my HTPC?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
640 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by kjac
Are you trying Daily Update/Force Update or Full Import? If you are trying Force, Please try Daily and see if that goes any better.-kjac
Well I've tried both Force and Daily with the same result. (Seems to hang on Importing Listings)


I'm going to reboot, clear out the mysql\

epeplay dirs, reinstall all of the WIRNS stuff and try again. This time I think I'll try one provider, and get that up, before I add the second, third. Worth a shot anyway.


Let me know if there is anything special you'd like me to do procedure wise and I'll check here before I get underway.


Just for fun, I've kicked off a full update with what I have now (3 providers) and will let that run until I get home.


Cliff
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
833 Posts
Discussion Starter · #19 ·
Quote:
Originally posted by cliffcor
Well I've tried both Force and Daily with the same result. (Seems to hang on Importing Listings)


I'm going to reboot, clear out the mysql\

epeplay dirs, reinstall all of the WIRNS stuff and try again. This time I think I'll try one provider, and get that up, before I add the second, third. Worth a shot anyway.


Let me know if there is anything special you'd like me to do procedure wise and I'll check here before I get underway.


Just for fun, I've kicked off a full update with what I have now (3 providers) and will let that run until I get home.


Cliff
Ok, I have this version working with 1 provider. I'll setup a second and third and see if there is a bug in my code.

Quote:
Actually, now that I read it more carefully it doesn't look so hard. (I'm at work right now so I won't be able to dig into it until I get home). Does this require a dedicated computer to act as the server? Or can it reside on a Windows machine that gets used for other things as well, like my HTPC?
Carnivore,


Any computer with .Net framework, a internet connection, and the ability to talk to the replay (same subnet) will work fine.


-kjac
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
833 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·
cliff,


I just did a two-provider daily update here and it worked fine, so I'm not sure whats going on. I'd drop the replay database ("DROP DATABASE replay;") and recreate it in mysql. After doing that _DELETE_ the providerList.xml and restart the importer and resetup your providers (the .xml syncs to some info in the database, if you drop the database you need to delete that file (I really need to add some more error checking heh)).


-kjac
 
1 - 20 of 67 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top