AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
502 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Why can't projectors be built with the ability to change aspect ratios as easily to fit any format? Just tell the projector what size you want and voila, it formats it to fit your screen automatically! INo more masking!

·
Registered
634 Posts
I think you got the whole thing wrong. Even though I'm no expert in this, it's not that the projector doesn't do aspect ratios correctly. It's the screen!

For instance. Imagine you have a completely sqaure screen. Aspect ratio 1:1? There's nothing you can do but have black/grey bars. if you want to fill the width of your screen.

·
Registered
502 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
What I mean is the ability to just tell your projector "OKay, I have a 80 inch wide by 60 inch high screen - Now make whatever I feed you come out in that size exactly. And do the least image distortion that you can do"

Am I dreaming or just showing my total naivete to the way a projector works?

·
Registered
32,172 Posts
You are just dreaming. Projectors use panels of a fixed shape and then lenses to blow that out. There are anamorphic lenses that can manage some "natural distorting" of the image. But it's not like a cheap projector could have anything more than an ability to distort across one domain and it's certainly not like it could have some programmable digital "screen match" control.

mark

·
Registered
587 Posts
I think the problem is the source material, If they could just decide on what aspect ratio to film in, and if everyone would stick to it. I prefer 1.85:1

~ Jay

·
Registered
2,314 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by ChaCha
What I mean is the ability to just tell your projector "OKay, I have a 80 inch wide by 60 inch high screen - Now make whatever I feed you come out in that size exactly. And do the least image distortion that you can do"