Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I have posted on this message board in the past, seeking to become an informed consumer, and was overwhelmed by the knowledge of the community here as well as the professional behavior exhibited among members. With that said, I'm coming back to solicit input for a project.

I'm a graduate student who is writing a research paper on HDTV. Specifically, the paper aims to first identify the players in the HDTV value chain including: networks (ABC, NBC, CBS, etc.), broadcast stations (your local station), satellite stations (Discovery, ESPN, etc.), cable and satellite operators, hardware manufacturers (TVs and set-top boxes), other content creators (movie studios), premium channels (HBO, Showtime), retailers, consumers, and government.

I know that the HDTV rollout has been and continues to be a slow and painful one for many of the early adopting consumers such as yourselves. I would like to understand the reasons behind the slow adoption. Specifically, for each player in the value chain, what were the incentives and disincentives they had for HDTV adoption. Furthermore, I would like to examine which of these players is most capable of increasing the rate of adoption, and which is most capable of inhibiting the rate of adoption. In doing so, I plan to do an in-depth analysis of the economics for each segment in adopting HDTV. Does any one segment derive an economic profit from moving to HDTV? Or is it a losing proposition (financially) that is only being done because of government regulations?