AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a complete newbie in this, and believe it or not I did read everything I can about these video modes. I know 60i is interlaced and it's basically a frame consisting of 2 sections which is good for fast moving scenes, I know PF30 is pretty much 30p but it's Canon's special container format. I also know 24p is for movie like recording.

Question is, based on what I read, 60i and PF30 should be identical, yes? That's when I watch them in my computer (not for youtube). The reality is, in my XA10, even in the LCD monitor of the camera, 60i is significantly faster and more fluid and overall its better. 24p is straight up slow and I can see being useful for movies and such, PF30 on the other hand is no where near as fast as 60i. I just don't understand why someone would use PF30 over 60i, or am I missing something?

Thanks.

·
Registered
167 Posts
Pause the video. You will then see the difference.

60i is most common with bluray & broadcast.

30p is well suited for the Internet.

60i is tricking your brain.

30p is full frames.

I only use 30p as I don't burn to bluray, I use slow motion in editing & share videos with family via YouTube. They are different but it's a preference thing. Use wiki & read up on it. Use the format that meets your needs.

If you are burning to bluray then 60i or 24p are best. 24p will enhance your low light capabilities.

Enjoy.

·
Registered
5,291 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerStig /forum/post/20848891

60i and PF30 should be identical, yes?

No. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Progres...egmented_frame
Quote:

The reality is, in my XA10, even in the LCD monitor of the camera, 60i is significantly faster and more fluid and overall its better.

Duh. Because 60i is 60 samples per second while PF30 is only 30.
Quote:

I just don't understand why someone would use PF30 over 60i, or am I missing something?