1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
301 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, I'm new with HD gaming with a 360.

I just bought a cheap HD set. The link to the manual is here:

http://www.astarelectronics.com/manu...B%20manual.pdf

I don't think this set is capable of using the VGA input with any sort of audio connection, so I'm not going to go with that route.

I'm currently using the YPBPR component connection. What is the YCBCR connection?

I tried using the CBCR connection but it didn't work; I only got a fuzzy mess.

I'm just asking so I can make use of the CBCR connection rather than let it go to waste.

·
Registered
568 Posts
I looked at your manual. You should consider getting the Microsoft VGA cable, and set the resolution of the XBOX the the native resolution of your new set, i.e. 1366x768. (The VGA port might be limited to 1280x768, but I doubt it.)

YCbCr is limited to 480p, like your typical Progressive Scan DVD player. The xbox can be made to work on this connection, but only if you set the resolution to 480p. (I see no reason to do that.)

You should have no problem hooking up audio, regardless of which connection method you choose. If you can't remap the inputs, you can always use the PC Audio In with an adapter.

If you already have the HD component cable, you should be able to use at lease both 720p and 1080i, and maybe if you're lucky 1080p as an undocumented feature. Just realize that the true resolution of your screen will always be the 1366x768.

·
Registered
301 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ah thanks.

I've been using the YPBPR input, running 720p without a hitch. I've shelved gears of war for 2 weeks waiting to enjoy it in HD and its going excellent. The game looks incredible, and I'm still on the 1st level! It does not accept 1080p but that doesn't matter; I don't have a 1080 set and there are no games of that resolution anyway.