AVS Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I'm new to midrange home theater but putting together a system for my family room. I've been researching receivers for about a week and am torn between the YAMAHA AVENTAGE RX-A820 vs the Onkyo TX-NR616. The Yamaha is on sale for $500 and you can get a refurbed Onkyo at $310 or new at about $360. They both seem to have such similar stats I just don't know which way to go. One has Audyssey and the other has YPAO Multi point and neither have wireless built in as the 2013 models do but the onkyo dongle is 20 dollars. I know the Onkyo has had mixed reviews but it seems that was a firmware issue that has mostly been addressed. The Yamaha has decent reviews. I plan to do a 5.1 system in the family room with something along the lines of the Energy Take or the Blackstone 1600 and use the power from the other two chanels to power the second zone so want the 7.2 system to pull that off. Is there another $500 AVR I should consider that I'm just missing? I keep thinking that if I have this for several years like I did with my current 2004 Phillips system, I won't miss spending a bit more money. You know how when you buy something and in the long run you wished you spent the extra money. I keep thinking of the over the top deal the Pioneer SC1522k is at $600 but I don't have a costco membership only sams club and if my wife found out I spend $600 she'd have a fit. So any AVR suggestions, advice or opinions are appreciated.

·
Registered
123 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkust  /t/1471171/yamaha-aventage-rx-a820-vs-onkyo-tx-nr616-or-other-suggestions#post_23275047