AVS Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm trying to install a z-wave 103 3-way switch. The instructions state that "if multiple neutrals are tied together in one box separate the neutrals to preserve the integrity of the circuit" -

My problem is that in my box, there are 2 other switches. There's only 1 total wire carrying my hot from the source. If I were to separate them out... doesn't that mean my other 2 switches are dead and I'd have to run a new wire from the source for them to operate? Does this mean that a 3-way zwave MUST be on it's own circuit?

BTW - I'm a noob when it comes to electrical stuff (as you may have guessed). I'm just crossing my fingers that this will work without the need to run another wire.

Thanks for help

R

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Targus /forum/post/0

They're talking about neutral, you're talking about the hot wire. They're not the same.

Maybe I'm wrong (and I could be), but doesn't each neutral have to be connected back to the neutral from the source in order to complete the circuit?

·
Registered
2,839 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chumad /forum/post/0

There's only 1 total wire carrying my hot from the source.

You should be fine then. I am guessing that they are referring to instances where multiple circuits are coming into one box and electricians sometimes do the easy, and also wrong, thing of wiring all the neutrals together.

As long as you only have one feed/neutral coming in you should be fine.

·
Registered
333 Posts
This came up before and here was the response.