Master List of HDR-Capable Displays


High dynamic range (HDR) promises the greatest improvement in picture quality since the transition to high definition (HD) at the turn of the century. However, to see exactly what HDR can do, you need HDR-encoded content displayed on an HDR-capable TV or projector.

HDR content is now available from several streaming services, including Netflix, Vudu, and Amazon, as well as most UHD Blu-ray discs. And now, there are many HDR-capable displays that can render that content in its full glory. But there’s a fly in the ointment: multiple HDR formats. Currently, there are two formats in the field (HDR10 and Dolby Vision), with two more (HLG [Hybrid Log Gamma] and Technicolor HDR) that will likely be deployed in the near future.

In addition, Samsung just announced that its 2017 QLED and MU-series TVs will implement HDR10+, which is HDR10 with dynamic metadata. This is similar in concept to Dolby Vision and offers better picture performance than “regular” HDR10 with static metadata. However, HDR10+ is currently limited to streaming from the TVs’ internal Amazon app. Conveying HDR10+ from an external device requires HDMI 2.1, which will not be available until 2018 at the earliest. Also, it will require new hardware, so don’t expect it to be added in a firmware update.

Up to now, all UHD Blu-ray discs have used HDR10 exclusively, though we will start to see discs with Dolby Vision this year. Streaming content is available in HDR10 and/or Dolby Vision (and HDR10+ from Amazon to the internal app on Samsung TVs), and HLG will likely be used for broadcast content. How Technicolor HDR will be used is not yet clear, but it’s on the horizon.

Does that mean we’re in for yet another format war? No! I view these HDR formats in much the same way as audio formats such as Dolby Atmos and DTS:X. Modern AV receivers and preamp/processors can decode multiple audio formats, so it doesn’t matter which one is used for a particular piece of content. Similarly, a modern HDR-capable display should be able to decode multiple HDR formats.

Then there’s the issue of a display’s specific capabilities. In the era of standard dynamic range (SDR), all properly calibrated displays behaved roughly the same—100 nits peak brightness, BT.709 color gamut—and the content was mastered with the same parameters. But in the world of HDR, the specs to which content is mastered vary, and so does the behavior of consumer displays.

The UHD Alliance has attempted to “standardize” the performance of HDR-capable flat panels by introducing UHD Premium certification. If a display is so certified, it has been verified to produce a certain minimum peak brightness, maximum black level, and minimum color gamut, though it can exceed those specs if the manufacturer so chooses. However, just because a display is not certified as UHD Premium does not mean it doesn’t conform to those standards; it only means the manufacturer didn’t submit the display for certification. Also, there is no UHD Premium specification for projectors. In fact, there are no specifications for HDR projectors at all.

I am completely convinced that HDR takes video to a whole new level, so it’s critically important for shoppers to know which displays can fully render it. To help those shoppers, I’ve created a list of HDR-capable displays—both TVs and projectors—that indicates the make, model line (which typically includes several screen sizes), implemented HDR format(s), and whether or not it carries Ultra HD Premium certification.

I’ve also divided the list into four sections based on the type of HDR-capable display: OLED TVs, LCD-FALD (full array, local dimming) TVs, LCD-edgelit TVs, and projectors. OLED TVs and projectors are best suited for light-controlled rooms, while LCD TVs have enough brightness to stand up to ambient light, though the full benefit of HDR can be seen only in a dark room.

I think it’s important to get a display that can decode multiple HDR formats. In terms of content, HDR10 is the most common format today, but it looks like Dolby Vision will increase its availability in the consumer market this year, and HLG will likely be used for broadcast HDR in the next year or two. Technicolor HDR is an unknown at this point, but LG is planning to add it to its OLED TVs with a firmware update, so the company must be expecting that content will be available at some point.

As mentioned earlier, Samsung’s 2017 QLED TVs implement HDR10+ from their internal Amazon app, and the MU series will add this capability with a firmware update. All of these models are edgelit, so I’ve included an extra column for HDR10+ in the list of LCD-edgelit TVs. HDR10+ is an open standard with no licensing fee, so other manufacturers are likely to implement it. When they do, I’ll add that column to the appropriate lists.

It’s important to note that I’m including only models from 2016 and 2017 in these lists. There are certainly HDR-capable displays from 2015, but they aren’t generally available at retail any more. I want to focus on products that are currently—or soon to be—in the retail pipeline.

I’ll be updating these lists as new models are introduced by manufacturers. If you want the best image that 4K/UHD can offer now and in the future, you want one of these displays.


Year Make Model/Line HDR10 DV HLG Technicolor UHDP
2017 LG W7 * * (*) (*)
G7 * * (*) (*)
E7 * * (*) (*)
C7 * * (*) (*)
B7 * * (*) (*)
Sony A1E * (*) (*)
2016 LG G6 * * *
E6 * * *
C6 * * *
B6 * * *
Panasonic CZ950 *

(*) Note: These TVs are expected to add these features with a firmware update.


Year Make Model/Line HDR10 DV HLG Technicolor UHDP
2017 Hisense H10D * (*)
H8D (except 65″) *
H7D** *
R8 * *
R6** *
Philips 8000 * *
7000** * *
6000** * *
5000** *
Sharp P9500 * (*)
P8000 *
P7000** *
Sony X940E * (*) (*)
X900E * (*)
TCL P Series * *
Vizio E Series *
2016 Hisense H10C * *
LeEco uMax85 * *
Panasonic DX900 * *
Philips 8600 * *
6000 (except 65″) *
Samsung KS9800 * *
Sharp N9100 * *
N9001 *
N9000 *
N8100 *
Sony X940D * (*)
Z9D * (*) (*)
TCL X1 *
Vizio P Series * *
M Series * *
Reference Series * *

(*) Note: These TVs are expected to add these features at a later date.
** Note: These TVs have a full array of LEDs behind the LCD panel, but they do not implement local dimming.

Edgelit LCD TVs

Year Make Model/Line HDR10 HDR10+ DV HLG Technicolor UHDP
2017 Hisense H9D+ *
H9D *
H8D (65″ only) *
LG SJ9500 * * (*) (*)
SJ8500 * * (*) (*)
SJ8000 * * (*) (*)
UJ7700 * * (*) (*)
Samsung Q9F * * *
Q8C * * *
Q7C * * *
Q7F * * *
MU9000 * (*)
MU8500 * (*)
MU8000 * (*)
MU7500 * (*)
MU7000 * (*)
MU6500 * (*)
MU6300 * (*)
Sony X930E * * (*)
X850E * (*)
X800E * (*)
TCL C Series * *
S4 *
2016 LeEco Super4 X *
LG UH9500 * *
UH8500 * *
UH7700 * *
UH7500 *
UH6500 *
UH6100 *
Philips 6000 (65″ only) * *
Samsung KS9500 * *
KS9000 * *
KS8500 * *
KS8000 *
Sony X930D * (*)
X850D * (*)
X750D * (*)
X700D * (*)

(*) Note: These TVs are expected to add these features with a firmware update.


Year Make Model/Line HDR10 DV HLG Technicolor UHDP
2017 Epson LS10500 *
JVC DLA-RS4500 * *
DLA-RS620/X970R * *
DLA-RS520/X770R *  *
DLA-RS420/X570R * *
Optoma UHD60 *
Sony VPL-VZ1000ES (UST) * (*)
VPL-VW675ES * (*)
Wolf TXF-5000 *
2016 JVC DLA-RS600/X950R *
DLA-RS500/X750R *
DLA-RS400/X550R *
Sony VPL-VW5000ES * (*)
VPL-VW665ES * (*)
VPL-VW365ES * (*)
Wolf SDC-15 *

(*) Note: These projectors are expected to add these features with a firmware update.